SpeechDone

Comparison, as of Oct 16, 2026

Sprecho Alternative for iPhone: SpeechDone Compared

Sprecho fits better if you also use Android or Apple Vision, or want your voice processed only on one provider’s servers in Germany. SpeechDone fits better if you dictate on iPhone, iPad, and Mac and want Pro for $4.99 a month with live text, translating, and rewriting.

SpeechDone and Sprecho side by side

SpeechDoneWaitlistSprechoMelo Designer GmbH, in the App Store
AvailabilityWaitlist, not yet in the App StoreIn the App Store and on Google PlaySource 1Source 2
DevicesiPhone, iPad, and Mac (macOS 15 or later)According to the App Store listing: iPhone, iPad, Mac (Apple M1 or later), and Apple Vision. Plus an Android appSource 1Source 2
Getting startedFree with 1,500 words a weekFree to start according to the listing, plus a free trial of ProSource 1
Pro€4.99 a month or €49.99 a year in Germany ($4.99 or $49.99 in the US), no weekly limit. Subscription through the App StoreThe German App Store listing shows “Sprecho Pro” at €14.99 and at €155.99, unlimited dictation. The listing does not state the termSource 1
Where speech is processedOur server is hosted by Hetzner in Germany. Recognition runs only on EU servers (Deepgram and Mistral AI)According to the App Store listing, on Sprecho’s own servers (“100 % EU hosting in Germany”), with no third parties such as OpenAI or Google and no transfer to the USSource 1
Dictionary and text snippetsA dictionary for names and technical terms, plus text snippets, the same on all your devices (with sign-in)A personal dictionary and text snippets you insert with a trigger wordSource 1
DPA and professional secrecyDPA under Art. 28 GDPR, which you sign with us in text form. Plus a confidentiality obligation under § 203 of the German Criminal Code and a public list of subprocessorsAccording to the App Store listing, a DPA under Art. 28 GDPR on request, and it calls Sprecho compliant with § 203 of the German Criminal Code for lawyers, doctors, and tax advisorsSource 1

As of Oct 16, 2026, per the App Store and Google Play listings (sources below). Sprecho’s website was not reachable for us that day, so nothing here comes from it. SpeechDone prices include VAT.

In short

Sprecho and SpeechDone have a lot in common: both are a voice keyboard for iPhone, both have a dictionary and text snippets, and both offer a data processing agreement. Sprecho is a product of Melo Designer GmbH in Germany, SpeechDone comes from via now.

Everything we say about Sprecho comes from its App Store listing and its Google Play listing, retrieved on Oct 16, 2026. About SpeechDone we only say what we can back up ourselves. SpeechDone is not in the App Store yet, Sprecho is.

What Sprecho does well

Sprecho keeps processing with one provider: according to its App Store listing, recognition runs on its own servers hosted in Germany, with no third parties such as OpenAI or Google and no transfer to the US. If that is exactly what you want, Sprecho is the better fit.

According to the listing, Sprecho also runs on iPhone, iPad, Mac, and Apple Vision, and there is an Android app on Google Play. If you also use Android or Apple Vision, Sprecho covers them from one place.

What SpeechDone does differently

SpeechDone is built for iPhone, iPad, and Mac: a keyboard in every app on iPhone and iPad, hold fn and speak on the Mac (macOS 15 or later), plus a widget, a Live Activity, the share menu, and a history in your iCloud. You see the text while you speak, and when you stop, the finished text is in the field. Two speech recognizers check each other: Deepgram writes live, Mistral recognizes the recording again in sections, and that text is what gets inserted.

In the keyboard you can translate, ask questions, and rewrite selected text by voice (Pro). Past the weekly limit, SpeechDone keeps writing, just without cleanup. Pro costs $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year.

For context: our server is hosted by Hetzner in Germany, but we use two services for recognition. Deepgram (USA, processing on EU servers) and Mistral AI (Paris) receive your recording for recognition. Neither uses it for training: we opt out with Deepgram on every request, and with Mistral it is switched off in our account. On our server, the recording is not stored.

When SpeechDone fits better

When Sprecho fits better

Frequently asked questions

What is a good Sprecho alternative for iPhone?

If you mostly dictate on iPhone, iPad and Mac and want to see the text while you speak, SpeechDone can fit. If you also use Android or Apple Vision, Sprecho covers more devices.

How much does Sprecho cost?

According to the German App Store listing, Sprecho is free to start, and “Sprecho Pro” is listed at €14.99 and at €155.99. The listing does not state the term. SpeechDone Pro is €4.99 a month or €49.99 a year in Germany.

Where does Sprecho process speech?

According to the App Store listing, on its own servers hosted in Germany. With SpeechDone, our server is hosted by Hetzner in Germany, and recognition runs only on EU servers from Deepgram and Mistral AI.

Do both offer a DPA?

Yes. With Sprecho, the DPA is available on request according to the App Store listing. With SpeechDone you sign it with us in text form, and the subprocessors are listed publicly.

Where do I get SpeechDone?

SpeechDone is not in the App Store yet. Join the waitlist and we will email you once when it is.

Sources

  1. 1Sprecho in the App Store: Sprecho, Diktat per Stimme (Melo Designer GmbH), retrieved October 16, 2026
  2. 2Sprecho on Google Play, retrieved October 16, 2026

Be there when SpeechDone launches.

SpeechDone isn’t in the App Store yet. Join the waitlist and we’ll email you once when it is.

You confirm by email. We write once at launch, then delete your address. Privacy